scott wilton

Assistant instructor
Wilderness First Responder

I grew up in Madison, WI and spent a lot of my childhood outside running around and getting dirty. Summers were spent up at the family cottage in Door County on Lake Michigan, and weekends in the spring and fall were often occupied scrambling around on the talus fields at Devils Lake. I started unicycling at the age of 11 and quickly got hooked on the unique sport, which has since taken me around the country and world to events and competitions. Throughout high school I was also an active student athlete, participating in cross country running, swimming, and track.

I went to college at the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, and it was there that I found my love for climbing. I got involved with the Outdoor Club my freshman year and quickly started climbing as much as I could. Winter and spring break trips took me and my new climbing friends to destinations such as Joshua Tree, CA; Red Rock Canyon, NV; and Joe's Valley, UT where I learned outdoor bouldering and sport climbing skills. I also worked as an instructor at the campus climbing gym, helping me improve my teaching skills. After graduating with a degree in Mathematics, I lived for a year at an outdoor skills school in Norway, north of the arctic circle in the Lofoten Islands. I spent a lot of my time both in and out of class climbing and scrambling in the mountains surrounding the school. I learned skills in backcountry travel, winter camping, traditional and multi-pitch climbing, and ski touring. I stayed in Lofoten the following summer, trying out the dirtbag life: living in a tiny fisherman's hut by the sea with three of my friends from school, climbing and hiking in the midnight sun (and working only when we had to).

Back in Madison, I work many different jobs and I love the variety and contrast this offers, as well as the ability to apply skills learned in one area to other parts of my life. I work as an instructor at Boulders Climbing Gym, as an after-school nanny, a carpenter, a web developer, and as an event organizer for international unicycle events. I love to climb, unicycle, bike, and hike. I am an avid traveler (I have unicycled in over 17 countries) and am fluent in German and Norwegian.